St Matthew's School Narrogin

St Matthew's School Narrogin

West Australian Curriculum

The West Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all West Australian students.  It describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community.  It makes clear what all young West Australians should learn as they progress through schooling.  It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all students.

St Matthew’s School teachers plan, implement, assess and report against the West Australian Curriculum.

There are 9 Learning Areas in the curriculum of Catholic schools in WA.  The first Learning Area is Religious Education.  St Matthew’s offers a broad-based curriculum with emphasis given to the care and development of the child as an individual.  We recognise the vital place of faith in the lives of the students, and are concerned with the awakening, nourishing and developing of this faith within a sound education.  The nine learning areas are: Religious Education, English, Mathematics, Science, HASS, Health and Physical Education, The Arts, and LOTE.  Please see our School Handbook for further information about the curriculum offered at our school.


St Matthew’s School has a deep and lasting concern to provide educational opportunities that enable each child to grow as God intends.


Website Design & Maintenance
by Chameleon Logic

© St Matthews School 2017